Life cycle of a Thread (Thread States)

A thread can be in one of the five states. According to sun, there is only 4 states in thread life cycle in java new, runnable, non-runnable and terminated. There is no running state.

But for better understanding the threads, we are explaining it in the 5 states.

The life cycle of the thread in java is controlled by JVM. The java thread states are as follows:

  1. New
  2. Runnable
  3. Running
  4. Non-Runnable (Blocked)
  5. Terminated
Java thread life cycle

1) New

The thread is in new state if you create an instance of Thread class but before the invocation of start() method.

Related Tutorial
Follow Us #